MasterCard re-elects directors

Source: MasterCard

MasterCard Incorporated (NYSE:MA) announced the results of its Annual Meeting of Stockholders, held earlier today at the Company's worldwide headquarters in Purchase, NY.

At the meeting:

  • the following directors were re-elected with a term to expire in 2013: Ajay Banga, President and Chief Executive Officer, MasterCard Incorporated; David R. Carlucci, Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, IMS Health Incorporated; Steven J. Freiberg, Chief Executive Officer, E*TRADE Financial Corporation; Richard Haythornthwaite, Chairman of the Board, MasterCard Incorporated, Non-Executive Chairman, Network Rail; Marc Olivié, President and Chief Executive Officer, W.C. Bradley Co.; Rima Qureshi, Senior Vice President and Business Unit Head, CDMA Mobile Systems, Ericsson; Mark Schwartz, Chairman, MissionPoint Capital Partners, LLC; Jackson P. Tai, Former Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, DBS Group and DBS Bank, Ltd.;
  • the compensation of MasterCard's executive officers' compensation was approved on an advisory basis;
  • the Company's non-employee director equity compensation and employee long-term incentive plan, each as amended and restated, were both approved; and
  • the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP as the Company's independent registered public accounting firm for 2012 was ratified.

Addressing stockholders on the Company's business, MasterCard President and Chief Executive Officer Ajay Banga noted that the Company's global reach continues to drive momentum.

"We continue to grow, diversify and build our business as consumers, governments and businesses move from paper-based transactions to more efficient forms of electronic payments. With 85 percent of the world's transactions still made with cash and checks, we remain focused on delivering innovative products and solutions and working toward our vision of a world beyond cash that will make payments, safer, simpler and smarter." 

Comments: (0)