RBS executive Fisher to replace Groenink as AMN Amro chairman

Source: ABN Amro

ABN AMRO, Fortis, RBS and Santander announce today the nominations for the new structure and membership of the Supervisory and Managing Boards of ABN AMRO, together with their proposed responsibilities.

These are subject to the completion of the appropriate approval process including an Extraordinary General Meeting of shareholders called for by ABN AMRO at the earliest practical date as well as consultation with all relevant staff representative bodies.

The Supervisory Board will continue to be chaired by Mr Arthur Martinez. Nominated to join the Supervisory Board are Mr Jean-Paul Votron, Chief Executive of Fortis, Sir Fred Goodwin, Chief Executive of RBS, and Mr Juan Inciarte, General Manager of Santander. Mr David Baron de Rothschild,

Mr Marcus Pratini de Moraes, Mr Paulo Scaroni, Lord Sharman of Redlynch and Mr Gerhard Randa will be stepping down at the forthcoming EGM.

For the Managing Board our intention is to increase both its resources and capabilities while providing increased leadership focus for Business Units and functions. The structure details (attached) show how existing responsibilities will map onto the proposed structure. In the period ahead we will be working on the allocation of further responsibilities to the leadership team as appropriate.

As announced by ABN AMRO yesterday Mr Rijkman Groenink is stepping down from his position as Chairman of the Managing Board. The other existing members of the Managing Board will retain positions with revised responsibilities.

Mr Groenink's nominated replacement as Chairman is Mr Mark Fisher, currently Chief Executive of the Manufacturing Division and a member of the RBS Group Board and Group Executive Management Committee.

Comments: (0)