New Aequitas board directors appointed

Source: Aequitas

Aequitas Innovations Inc. (Aequitas) and Aequitas NEO Exchange Inc. (NEO Exchange) are pleased to announce new appointments to their boards of directors upon closing of its launch round financing earlier this month.

On the NEO Exchange board, Susan Wolburgh Jenah - an independent director - has been appointed the Chair, bringing unprecedented capital markets regulatory and governance experience as a Governor of the U.S. Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, former President and CEO of the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada and former Vice-Chair of the Ontario Securities Commission. Susan is joined on the NEO Exchange board by four other independent directors and five non-independent directors to bring the total number of NEO Exchange directors to ten. Fifty percent of the NEO Exchange board, including the Chair, are independent. 

The other independent directors are Vincent Chahley, a prominent Calgary-based investor and corporate director; Dave Lauer, a US-based leading market structure expert with prior experience at several prominent high-frequency trading firms; Perry Dellelce, a successful corporate lawyer, founder and managing partner of Wildeboer Dellelce LLP and champion of Canadian entrepreneurs; and Alan Hutton, a veteran of governance and service to the investment Industry with deep technological and operational expertise. These NEO Exchange board members are joined by Sheila Murray representing CI Financial Corp., and Nick Thadaney representing ITG Canada, from the founding shareholders group; Bryan Thomson representing bcIMC, and Bardya Zaian representing BBS Securities, from the recently announced new shareholders group; and Jos Schmitt, President and CEO of NEO Exchange. 

On the Aequitas board, Greg Mills representing RBC Dominion Securities, continues to serve as Chair. He has been joined by the five independent directors serving on the NEO Exchange board and eight non-independent directors. The total number of Aequitas directors is 14. 

The eight non-independent directors are Daniel Garant representing PSP Investments, Curtis Millen representing BCE, Brent Robertson representing OMERS Capital Markets, Scott Penman representing IGM Financial, and the Honourable Michael Wilson representing Barclays Canada, from the founding shareholders group; John Ing representing Maison Placements Canada and Peter Intraligi representing Invesco Canada, from the recently announced new shareholders group; and Jos Schmitt, President and CEO of Aequitas. 

"These individuals bring a wealth of capital markets skills and experience to Aequitas," stated Greg Mills, Aequitas Chair. "It is my great honour to welcome them to the boards and I am confident they will keep Aequitas true to its founding vision at all times."

"It is an honour to serve as the Chair of an organization that is working to transform the Canadian capital markets," added Susan Wolburgh Jenah, NEO Exchange Chair. "The goal of the NEO Exchange is to fairly address the needs and interests of investors, capital-raising companies and dealers alike. I look forward to working with the board and management team to bring to life their vision of a marketplace that will advantage all."

Comments: (0)