Nacha elects Wells Fargo's Steve Ellis chairman

Source: Nacha

The members of NACHA - The Electronic Payments Association have elected Steve Ellis, Executive Vice President of Wells Fargo & Company's Wholesale Banking Group, as the Chairman of NACHA's Board of Directors. Ellis and the new NACHA Board officially began two-year terms on January 1, 2005.

"I'm excited about the opportunity to work with representatives across the financial services industry on the evolution of electronic payments," said Ellis. "NACHA and the ACH Network are well-positioned to assist the payments industry and promote the safety and soundness of the payments system during this evolution. Some current hot topics include check conversion, the impact of the Check 21 legislation, and risk management practices."

Steve Ellis manages Wells Fargo's Wholesale Services Group, that combines treasury management and sales, wholesale delivery, customer service, marketing and loan operations. A 17-year veteran of Wells Fargo, Ellis' previous responsibilities included starting up and running the Wholesale Internet Solutions group that launched the Commercial Electronic Office® (CEO®) in 2000.

The NACHA membership also elected the following officers:
  • Richard W. Burke, Jr., Senior Vice President, Commerce Bank, as Vice Chairman;
  • Philip C. Ahwesh, Vice President, PNC Bank, as Secretary/Treasuer.

    In addition to the officers, the following individuals were elected to serve on the Board:
  • Ann-Marie Bartels, AAP, President and CEO, Mid-America Payment Exchange;
  • Michael A. Bilski, Executive Vice President, North American Banking Company;
  • Janet C. Boyst, Senior Vice President and Group Executive, Wachovia Bank;
  • Charles B. Bretz, Senior Vice President, Compass Bank;
  • Danne L. Buchanan, Executive Vice President, Zions Bancorporation;
  • Brady M. Cole, Senior Executive Vice President, Navy Federal Credit Union;
  • Elizabeth A. Cronenweth, AAP, Vice President, Fifth Third Bank;
  • Mary Ann Francis, Senior Vice President, National City Corp.;
  • Ward H. Gailey, Jr., Senior Vice President, SunTrust Bank;
  • Jeffrey W. Jones, Executive Vice President, U.S. Bank;
  • Fred Laing, II, AAP, President, Upper Midwest ACH Association;
  • Francis Lee, President and CEO, Southwest Corporate Federal Credit Union;
  • Maria Mandler, Managing Director, Citigroup;
  • Arthur C. Markos, President, Gardiner Savings Institution;
  • Norman K. Robinson, AAP, President, EastPay;
  • Rossana F. Salaris, AAP, Senior Vice President, Electronic Payments Network.

    Ellis' predecessor, Leonard J. Heckwolf, Senior Vice President, JPMorgan Chase, will also serve on the NACHA Board as Immediate Past Chairman.

    "I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Board for the next two years," said Ellis. "I'd also like to commend all those who served on the NACHA board the past two years, especially Len Heckwolf for his leadership during this time of great changes in the payments system."
  • Comments: (0)